Posted in Reading

How about some magic?

Have you ever wanted to be a wizard (or a witch)? Have you ever dreamed about having a magic wand? Maybe you wanted (or still want) to be omnipotent? My answer is yes to all these questions. I always loved fairy tales and legends, stories of magic and miracles. I do believe in miracles. That is why I am fascinated by J.K. Rowling’s ‘Harry Potter’ series.
My acquaintance with Harry Potter started in 2000 when my American friends brought me four first books of the series published in the US by that time.

I was so absorbed in reading them and felt so sorry for my folks who had no opportunity to share my delight (there was no translation of the books into Ukrainian or Russian in 2000). Then we bought the translations, one by one. We were waiting for the new books of the series with the rest of the world. I remember fighting with my husband for the book the one who got up first had the opportunity to enjoy the book before work 🙂

I also remember how my dad became a Harry Potters fan as well. He withstood our persistent recommendations and refused to read Harry Potter. He asserted that he was not interested in a children’s book; that he was an old-time Tolkienist and no book could equal “The Lord of the Rings”. But one day he had nothing to read and took the first volume of the series. The bait was taken. Now he is an ardent admirer of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. 🙂

And now Harry Potter fans are able to enjoy the website dedicated to their favorite books. It is called Pottermore. Here they can not only learn the additional information about the characters. They can actually become students of their favorite school! Isn’t it interesting to know which House you belong to  – Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff or Slytherin? You should just put on the Sorting Hat and it will decide where you should go. In Hogwarts, you can practice casting spells and brewing potions, take part in wizard’s duels and earn House points for all your achievements helping your House to win school competition. Sounds like fun, right?

Leave a comment